

2019 Open Water Series

Championships - Saturday 31 August 2019

Venue: Darwin Waterfront Precinct

Time: 7.5km and 10km Event

Warm up/Registration: 7.00am-7.20am Race Briefing: 7.25am

Competition Start: 7.30am

2.5km and 5km Event

Warm up/Registration: 7.00am – 7:50am Race Briefing: 8:00am

Competition start: 8.15am

Hosted By: Swimming Northern Territory

Entry Fee: SNTI Members (Including Masters) \$10 per entry Non-Members -\$20 per entry.

Eligibility: Minimum Age 11 years on day of competition

Events/Limits: 2.5km

5km 7.5km 10km

The maximum total number of competitors (all events) is 200 per day.

Registration On-site Saturday 31 August

7.5km and 10km: 7.00am-7.20am 2.5km and 5km: 7:00am – 7:50am

Procedure: On-day entries: Fill in official entry form supplied and pay on-day entry fee. Hand in

signed waiver form, receive competition number and cap and undergo nail and jewellery

check.

NB. All competing athletes MUST present themselves during the registration period.

Format: The 2.5km, 5km 7.5km and 10km events will be swum concurrently (all age groups,

mixed)

Rules: Swimmers will not have to swim through finish gate at intermediate turns, but they will

only gain times when swimming through and touching the finish gate, at the completion

of required distance.

A swimmer entered in the 10km or 7.5km can gain a 5km time by swimming through,

and touching the finish gate at the completion of 5km distance.

Competitors in 7.5km and 10km will be allowed to feed from the pontoon from the start of the combined event (these competitors will be required to either wear a wrist band or

swim cap supplied by SNTI).

Conducted under the rules of Swimming Australia Ltd

Officials: SNTI is seeking officials from all clubs to assist with this meet. Parents of all Swimming NT

competitors under 18 will be required to assist.



Awards: Prize money will be awarded to all placegetters in each event. Total prize pool of \$2750.

5.0km Male Champion – *John Dove Perpetual Trophy* presented to first Male across the line

5.0km Female Champion – *Carol Bolton Perpetual Trophy* presented to the first Female across the line.